How to connect guitar to PC to use speakers?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:24 pm
by Expateach • 29 Posts

I am a school teacher. What is the best way to connect my electric or miked accoustic to my pc and play through the pc speaker system. The speakers have the third woofer speaker, an okay speaker set-up for a desktop computer.

Scroll up

RE: How to connect guitar to PC to use speakers?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:50 pm
by pebberbrown • 926 Posts

You need a small mixing board and a good sound card. Most motherboards these days have the sound car already built in.
mic the guitar amp through the mixing board for recording while using headphones. Use PC speakers without headphones to play back.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:26 am
by Stephen • 7 Posts

Sir,

I find using something that connects using a firewire is best, depending on your computer the USB devise can cause a delay. There is less delay if you use the firewire for both live and recording. Something like the Presonnus firebox can be gotten second hand on ebay and is a great interface, there are other similar.

Steve

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:20 pm
by Expateach • 29 Posts

Thanks Steve and Pebber, I'll check into both those items.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:46 am
by Slashiepie • 118 Posts

Audio interface. (you can skip the whole latency issue, driver testing and troubleshooting that comes from using the pc audio card or some usb mics, allthough Asio4all seems to be very popular and reliable for optimizing latency)

I recommend you get an external Audio Interface.
Price ranges from 30 eur to 1500.

Read about what they do so that you can buy the most relevant for your needs :)

Good luck

Last edited Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:52 am | Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:11 pm
by mitch2209 • 3 Posts