Hi Everyone/Lurker's Intro

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:53 am
by Ivan • 45 Posts

Hi All,
I've officially joined your forum, after lurking for a while and deciding that there's a lot of stuff to be learned here. I'm not sure how this all works yet so if I post in the wrong place or mess up let me know.

I've been playing with guitars and synths on and off for a while, but have never had any lessons so this is where I came to learn to play properly and understand music theory. Until recently I've been playing in Open C tuning on a 7string which I used because I like heavy music, but I want to learn music theory for guitar and that means learning in standard first. As a guitarist, I suspect I'm a frustrated keyboard player, because when i sit down to play I love endless arpeggio loops with a drum machine and tapping patterns for hours on end. There's a real zen element to playing like this for me and I feel like its a valid form of musical expression, but I want to know what else I can do with the instrument. I'm happy to have found lessons from the beginning and it's great to find a teacher who focuses on the very very basics. I've put alternate tunings, 7-strings and effects away for now, and I'm re-learning to play from the beginning on a basic strat through a clean channel. Wish me luck!

See you all in the forums :-)
Ivan

Music=Life

Last edited Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:56 am | Scroll up

RE: Hi Everyone/Lurker's Intro

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Aug 31, 2014 9:09 am
by mr. gurgle (deleted)