microphone + good speakers/monitors < 500 $ ??

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:25 pm
by student • 146 Posts

I am interested in learning to record/create music after reading some of these past posts by dlraben.
Since I am new at this I was wondering if any of you know of decent quality equipment to get me started with this.
I am not looking for professional grade equipment, but good equipment that will last me a long time and produce a good quality sound.

My setup should only have to consist of the following 3 things ?
1) reaper
2) microphone
3) speakers or monitors

Thanks in advance

Last edited Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:28 pm | Scroll up

RE: microphone + good speakers/monitors < 500 $ ??

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:45 pm
by dlraben • 278 Posts

I had (and still have) these same questions. I've read TONS of material on what to buy and what not to buy and here's the conclusion I came to: only buy enough to record your guitar into Reaper, and stop there for a long time. (I tried Cubase LE and Ableton Lite and compared to Reaper I think they suck. But whatever, they all can probably do the same stuff.) My reasoning is that I'm simply not skilled enough to hear the difference between good PC speakers and near-field monitors, or pro-grade A/D converters and entry level, or an acoustically treated room and my spare "music room." I think spending more than a couple hundred bucks just to set yourself up is going to be wasting money, but please defer to someone with more experience. We all want to be stars like Pebber & Ursin (et. al.), but if we ever do get sponsorships then we can upgrade our stuff later, right?