Scale practice/ learning advice

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:34 pm
by sstauf • 10 Posts

Hello, I am looking for a little advice, I have been playing by ear for 20 years but I am trying to expand my horizons. I learned the g major scale 14 position system and was wondering if I should continue in that key and try to improve my sequence patterns, intervals etc...in the key of G before moving to another key or learn the other keys and then work on the different patterns? I know Pebber advised that I learn the 5 position system first in all keys but I started with the 14 because I got impatient.

Scroll up

RE: Scale practice/ learning advice

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:53 pm
by John567 • 156 Posts

Hi sstauf,

How about scheduling for a different key for each month. There are 12 sounding keys and 12 months in one year. So, you can cover the major scale in about one year. You would have to add and additional 3 months for the enharmonic keys.

I didn't use the 14 position system (the one i use has 7). So, each day of the week would be assigned a mode. In your case I guess you could do two position per day. Each position will have an 7th chord arpeggio, triads, etc. I hope this helps.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:41 pm
by sstauf • 10 Posts

Hi John567, That sounds like a good plan, 1 month should be enough time to work on each key plus reviewing the keys as you go along. Thanks for the advice.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:31 pm
by FRaKh • 321 Posts

Change keys per month is great advice...

After a while try intermingling two keys...in other words....start changing keys as you practice/play.

Two keys I would recommend starting with are...G and C...try going Up G then Down C then visa versa.
Or just simply change the key you are playing...as long as you get the "key change" mechanically down.

Again...my 2 cents....

“A World Without String Is Chaos”

Rudolf Smuntz
Scroll up