Visited local teacher. Need your advise.

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu May 11, 2017 6:40 am
by Zvono • 7 Posts

Hello all!
I'm a new user on this board and English is not my native language so i'm sorry to bother you with it.
I picked up a guitar, found Pebber's YT channel and got told that i suck and i really liked it. So i watched alot and wrote down most of his music theory lessons and started with picking excercises and chromatic scales. Drifted into pentatonic and so on. I practiced for 1 month so far and i'm really happy with those excercises because i feel that i'm slowly improving which is alot of fun. So i seeked out a local guitar teacher to get a second opinion of a professional face to face too.
He wrote in his biography that he plays for 27years and studied in munich and i the usa and all that stuff so i was very positive but then this happend.

When i got there i of course told him that i'm a beginner, and that i know nothing yet, only a bit of usic theory and picking excercises and some left hand excercises i learned on youtube (didn't tell him i learned from Pebber).
And he told me that i started wrong, that those would be excercises for advanced students who are 2 or 3 years in his programm and told me that it's interesting that i started early with music theory but should not continue picking excercises and scales and instead learn chords and rythm first.
I was very upset at that, because i have alot of fun doing those excercises and especially the pentatonics sound so nice while doing them that i would feel it'll be very wrong to drop them.
He then asked me to play something i know. And i showed him the C M pentatonic scale, of course i messed up because i got nervous but i corrected those mistakes and he just sat there and told me that i played a simple melody.