Pick angle forwards or backwards?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:08 am
by Monkey Puzzle • 6 Posts

Hi Guys,

So I've only just found Pebber brown and his awesome videos. I'm just getting started with some of the right hand picking technique videos.

Now I've been playing for more than 10 years but watching these videos I see Pebber suggests angling the pick FORWARD. I've been playing by angling my pick BACKWARDS for the entire time I've been picking (10 years or so, off and on) i.e. the front/neck side of the plectrum goes up). This works for me as I've been using my wrist to pick, but now I try the moving thumb technique I feel it might have more benefits in the long run. My aim right now is to be able to pick faster and more accurately.

I was wondering what people's reasons are for angling the pick either forward or backwards and what benefits have you found in each method? I'm used to angling it Backwards, which like Pebber says, locks up my thumb a lot. Do people think it a good use of my time right now to re-learn my picking technique?

Cheers

Scroll up

RE: Pick angle forwards or backwards?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:05 pm
by Farelli • 189 Posts

It's worth it if you feel it will give you better control.

I've been working on scalpel and sarod picking using Pebber's techniques for about two years now. It gives me great control when I'm trying to play individual notes quickly and effortlessly.

But when I'm using other play styles I find myself altering my wrist angle and locking the thumb more to give myself more rigidity and a more full-arm motion. I just noted this over last weekend.

It's a constant exercise to improve technique. I think Pebber would say to do whatever works best for you. But don't ignore his technique if you can't improve using your own.

He'd probably throw in some more f-bombs in his answer though. :D

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:56 pm
by deltadiscos • 321 Posts