I Love Sarod

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:36 am
by nickjacquet (deleted)

So....I have been really obsessing on this style of picking as of late...I think it might be starting to graft its way into my natural playing tendancies...Today was one of the most exciting days for me ever...after the mandatory 2 hours of trill/open string picking that I now have become dependant on to get warmed up...(every time i have tried to skip it winds up being unproductive practice day) I moved to the more exciting parts of my technique excercises..the techniques especially pertaining to soloing...When I got to the Gilbert-esque/Mr Bucket lick that I have always wanted to really be able to let rip...but never could get to sound very good because my picking has always been awfull...which in turn screwed w/ the picking accents in the lick and made it sound poor....well not today...I decided before I started playing through the coils that I was going to try orienting my picking hand/arm on the body of the guitar such that the the dead middle of my forearm was the only part in contact w/ the very top of the corner of the guitar body (such that the part of the arm that performs the Sarod motion ie the muscle btw the radius and ulna would not be in any way hindered by resting on the guitar but rather suspended in the air at my side.) This of course left the entire end half of my fore-arm and picking hand in the air relative to the guitar body/bridge...And I was able to play through the coils faster than anything that I have done before, without having to slur 9 out of each 10 notes as a crutch for not being much of a picker...The one thing about it that really got my blood pumping was that the picking articulations that it afforded me enabled me to do something w/ the coils that I was not capable of before...I was able to lock them into a groove...as sets of 6 @ 120 B.P.M...I will spend time over the next few days trying to make it super tight before making any vid posts.