Right arm pain from overplaying?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:04 am
by Guitar137335 • 8 Posts

Hi Guys,
Last two days I've got a pain in my right arm joint and shoulder. Also the last 3 months I've been practicing for 10-12 hours a day. So could it be that? Weird I got it now thought. Also am young and fit. Practicing trills and theory now.
Also I've been playing drums for like 2 months but only for 15-30 minutes a day.
Thanks

Last edited Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:05 am | Scroll up

RE: Right arm pain from overplaying?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:46 pm
by Farelli • 189 Posts

That could be from anything. Sometimes you can go to sleep fit and wake up with an injury. As you get older you'll grow accustomed to that because it happens all the time. Weird though.

The question to ask is if you are feeling the pain while playing (either guitar or drums), or if it is more severe while playing. If so, you need to stop immediately and figure out what you're doing wrong. Chances are it is a bad posture situation.

I have a really bad left shoulder and upper back. If I sit in a sloppy position for a while playing the guitar, my left arm will start to go numb due to pinching of the nerve in my shoulder.

Posture is really, really important in anything you do.

If you can, post a video of you playing. If there's a posture problem someone will see it.

Oh one more thing - did you change to a new guitar recently? Changing from an electric to an acoustic puts a different angle on your shoulder and elbow that can take some time to adjust to.

Scroll up

RE: Right arm pain from overplaying?

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Sep 14, 2015 6:51 am
by Adam • 172 Posts

Hello Guitar137335,

I hope your issue has been resolved, but I recently dealt with something similar and wanted to share with you how Pebber's advice got me better!