Noob Question regarding Notes on the Guitar

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Mar 05, 2015 6:42 pm
by Jfed • 8 Posts

O.K so I'm a relative noob I guess on the guitar, less than six months and I'm going to ask a dumb question. So here goes;

How come the open A string sounds different than the A note on the sixth string at the 5th fret? If it's not supposed to sound the same then you can reply just that. I'm watching Pebbers music theory classes and I'm just not there yet maybe.

Anyway, sorry for the stupid question, I'm concerned that something is wrong with my hearing since I'm old. Thanks for reading.

Jeff

Scroll up

RE: Noob Question regarding Notes on the Guitar

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:15 am
by deltadiscos • 321 Posts

yes they should sound the same. have you got an electric tuner try tuning with that.
If you are tuned ok then your intonation could be way out.

You think you practice enough.......YOU DON'T!............PRACTICE MORE! Darryn U.K
One note can say a million words........It can also take a million notes to say one word

Last edited Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:16 am | Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:45 am
by Guitar Player • 83 Posts

I was going to say that about the intonation. The best advice I can offer is this.......take the guitar to a decent tech to set it up, level the frets etc. It is worth the cost of doing it.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:22 am
by Sirkostik • 12 Posts

If it sounds a bit darker or muddy than open A, it's normal because of string thickness.

Last edited Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:23 am | Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:52 am
by Guitar Player • 83 Posts

^110% Correct!!!!!

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:45 pm
by Farelli • 189 Posts