New Teacher here/feel like a fraud

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:18 am
by JAMsauce42 • 4 Posts

Hello everyone. I discovered Pebber Brown by sheer luck while viewing a comment section of a youtube video, and I have been amazingly impressed with him ever since. My first guitar teacher just recently gave me a job working under him, and I am nervous about it.

I have been playing for about 18 years, and I know a lot of theory, and composition ideas, and soloing approaches, and technique development, transcribing songs etc. but my sight reading is bad, like a lot of guitarists, and I have not been as disciplined a player as I should have been during the past few years due to other life issues, not the least of which is deciding whether I want to pursue music full time as a career or finish my degree, or what...
I have a few new young students now who I think could be very good players, and I want to be able to guide them and inspire them to greatness if that is what they want for themselves. I also have a few students who are older, and I think just want to be able to play a few tunes, and I'm not sure how much they are really trying to get out of this decision to take lessons. I was just kinda hoping for some general advice from Pebber, or someone who knows how it feels to take on the role of teacher to someone. Thanks for the great lessons you have given me already without knowing it, Pebber.

Last edited Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:29 am | Scroll up

RE: New Teacher here/feel like a fraud

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:17 am
by Ghostbend • 7 Posts

Hi JAMsauce!! I'm the least qualified to address this from some perspectives. But I have a positive attitude, am curious with a quest for knowledge also down to Earth, not afraid to make a mistake and I have initiative--and that alone is what it takes to learn.