Picking exercises on all strings

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:07 pm
by pinkmoonman • 14 Posts

Going through the first few modules. With this one i tend to stay on each string for a little long, so feel free to skip though and you'll get the same idea.

Scroll up

RE: Picking exercises on all strings

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:53 pm
by Adam • 172 Posts

Hi pinkmoonman!

My name is Adam Steinz, and I am an administrator here at PB Guitarstudio Forums. Thank you so much for posting this video! I watched it and would like to share some things with you:

1) Video Length & Editing: As you can imagine, Pebber gets HUNDREDS of videos like this each month. I know this, because he often sends a handful my way for me to review. It is highly suggested that we try to keep our videos no longer than 2 - 3 minutes each and just focus on one exercise at a time, as opposed to just a few seconds of demonstrate exercise-then-skipping-to-the-next-exercise--for-a-few-seconds-then-skipping-to-the-next-exercise (I think you get it). This will help ensure that each video is reviewed MUCH quicker, because Pebber will often try catching up on reviewing videos in between his in-person lessons and in-between his classes at LaVerne. It is way more easy for us to watch a few 2-3 minute videos, than having to start/stop several times in a 9-minute video. Short videos will are also easier to edit in terms of getting rid of what I refer to as "dead space." This includes things like having the metronome clicking in the background for extended periods of time without playing along to it, tuning up, excessive talking, "um's" , "ahhs," or "uhhhh's", and starting/stopping an exercise multiple times. I'm definitely not saying that you did all of the listed items. These are just examples of things we constantly see. Having said all of this, THANK YOU for posting your videos in the actual Forum, where it suggested they go.

2) Metronome: Thumbs WAY UP for using one!