Daily Practice Routine for the Busy Professional

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:42 am
by Paul • 1 Post

I am curious how a 41 yr old non-musician professional (I am a scientist) father of 2 small kids like myself can best adapt the "daily practice routine" for my busy schedule. Most nights, when everyone is asleep, I can get 30-60 minutes of guitar practice in. Sometimes more, sometimes much less.

As this is a hobby, I have no delusions about becoming the next Paul Gilbert, but I would like to be the best that I can.

Thanks

Paul

Scroll up

RE: Daily Practice Routine for the Busy Professional

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:48 am
by Sirkostik • 12 Posts

Usually when I dont have time to pracc and I also only get 60 mins to do so, I do open string warm up excerises and thrill ones, finishing with 5 position Major scales (picking & legato)

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:35 pm
by deltadiscos • 321 Posts

If you have 60 minutes a day work 30 mins module one 30mins module two every day for a while add in 5 position system.
when you have your technique down start spliting time between the modules...
but remember to have some fun work some tunes also. can get a lot done in 60 mins if you stick to a schedule and get it done

You think you practice enough.......YOU DON'T!............PRACTICE MORE! Darryn U.K
One note can say a million words........It can also take a million notes to say one word
Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:11 pm
by Ray1981 • 279 Posts

I fully agree with Deltadiscos here. I think it is better to spend on 2 modules each a half an hour as 6 modules each 10 min.

Scroll up

in PB Guitarstudio FORUMS Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:59 am
by Adam • 172 Posts

Hi Paul!